[Challenge] Trapped

To help keep the creativity flowing, I decided to join the challenge Literary Lion. Each week, a new word is chosen and you have to write the story in 400 words or less. The word of the week is Escape. Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Trapped

Wedding

He stood at the end of the aisle with a mixture of joy and awe on his face. I had never seen him so happy and another woman would have matched his expression with a smile of her own. But I wasn’t another woman, the churning of my stomach getting worse with each step I took towards him. Every eye on the room was on me and I wondered how I got to this point.

My parents, tired of my perpetual singleness, set me up with him. Our first date was refreshing. He had a stable job (a lawyer), no longer lived with his parents, and loved the same movies that I did. We started dating and after eight months, I realized that although I loved him, I wasn’t in love with him. Just as I had come to that conclusion, he proposed.

We were at a restaurant with both of our parents, which should have warned me of his intentions. I was in the middle of chewing my lasagna, when he got down on one knee. As soon as he started speaking, I started choking. A few abdominal thrusts and expectant looks later, I said yes.

The ocean breeze made my veil sway, the dress tight around my chest. The feeling with each step was getting worse and I realized that I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t breathe. I couldn’t do this. As soon as that thought came, I made my decision. I ran.

I would forever hate myself for the expression on his face when he realized that I couldn’t marry him.

5 thoughts on “[Challenge] Trapped

Leave a Reply

