[Quote] What If You Fly?

Welcome to Monday Quotes!

The start of the week can be daunting. Sunday nights are filled mentally preparing for the week ahead, whether it’s work related or social engagements. Mondays come around and we’re running around trying to figure out where we left off on Friday.

This is where I came up with the idea of Monday Quotes. Each Monday I will post a quote and sometimes I will expand on why I chose that particular quote. The goal of Monday Quotes is for you to take a second out of your day and to reflect on the quote, to be present in the moment. Some food for thought. Usually it will be posted much earlier in the day (it is still Monday night where I live), but this week has been crazy already.

Here is today’s quote:

Quote 1

My biggest fear is to fail, to fall. There. I said it. Some of you know that I am at the start of my life. I just graduated university, started my career a week ago, and I am terrified. What if the career I chose isn’t right for me? What if I fall into debt? What if I fall in love with someone that is unhealthy for me?

I know, I know. Those are all what if questions, but they do haunt me when I let my guard down. I am currently unattached and I know that I’m an all or nothing person. I’m scared that I will get in too deep, because I have before. Too many times. I have also recently been low on money and had to ask my parents to bail me out (yes, I did use this experience in my short story The Blue or the Beige Shirt?). I’m scared that it wasn’t a one time thing, but that I have terrible spending habits. If you have any budgeting advice, feel free to let me know in the comments below!

But that’s the thing. We all have insecurities, every one of us. Each day we make the decision whether to let them rule us or if we will rule over them.

So my question to you is “what if you fly?” There is an entire world out there waiting to be discovered, whether it’s travelling to a different country or a couple blocks away. Sometimes we get so used to our surroundings that we stop seeing. My challenge to you this week is to look at everything with fresh, or tourist eyes. Smile at a stranger, try a new restaurant, go for a walk outside. Take a risk and instead of wondering if you will fall, think about what could happen if you fly.

This week I will remind myself to turn my insecurities into positive affirmations. Someone very close to me recently told me, “You are the only person, the only thing that will hold yourself back.”

What was the first thing that came to mind when you read this quote?

10 thoughts on “[Quote] What If You Fly?

  1. Arpita says:

    Well, I just completed college, and will start working soon. So I know the kind of stuff you’re going through now. I have been thinking about these for a long time now, and even for me my experiences sometimes come out as my fiction. As far as the quote is concerned, it filled me with a hope. Maybe, the big shift that is going to happen to my life soon (starting a new job far away from family) will ultimately do me some good. Fingers crossed!

    Like

  2. saachim says:

    I love the idea of Monday Quotes! I know we could all use some extra motivation come Monday.

    This quote makes me think of all the opportunities that are out there, and how we can take advantage of them by choosing to say yes. Whether it’s chasing after that internship I want so badly or choosing to spend a semester abroad, I truly won’t know until I try (as cliché as it sounds). The chance is mine for the taking.

    Like

  3. Away From The Noise says:

    Makes me think of a previous post of mine called ‘What If It Goes Right?’ It’s true everyone focuses on the things going wrong as opposed to going right. And like you say ‘What if you fly?’ How good would your life be if you could focus on the mote positive outcomes? Nice post. Look forward to more.

    Like

  4. Crazy Colorful Turtle says:

    I love the quote (and your idea for Monday Quotes,too). I have just quit my job in order to move towards doing something related to my passion. And yeah, I let the insecurities get the better of me sometimes. It reminded me to focus on my dreams rather than the problems (which are probably just in my mind). Thank you! It gave me a boost. 🙂

    For the budgeting advice, may I just share an advice I am blessed to have been given a few years back. Every time you get your paycheck, take 20% (start small if you still can’t manage the 20% but move to that gradually) of your income and put it somewhere that makes it more difficult for you to dig into such as a savings account without an ATM card. 🙂

    Like

    • Juliette Chartrand says:

      I’m glad that my post was able to give you a boost! It’s hard trying to focus on the positives, but it’s worth it :).

      Thank you for the advice! I will definitely be starting that with my first paycheck (which is tomorrow!).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

