Who Are You, Really?

“Tell us a little bit about yourself” is inescapable. It gets asked at job interviews, the first day of class, and when you meet someone for the first time (although usually unspoken). As a twenty one year old, it’s frustrating. I am going to come right out and say it: I have no idea who I am and I am not sorry about it.

I could tell you about my job, my interests, and my history, but do those things alone do a person justice? What I can tell you is that I am in constant wonder of the life around me. There is so much to learn, to experience, to feel. I wish I could live forever so I could be able to do it all. This feeling is what drew me to writing. You can explore a dozen, hundred, million different people and their personal stories without leaving your house.

Why start a blog? Writing stories is what I’m passionate about and I want to do it well. I want readers to be able to connect with the characters I create, to forget that they’re reading a story. By putting it on a public platform, I’m hoping to learn from other people’s experiences and get constructive criticism so I can grow as a writer.

16 thoughts on “Who Are You, Really?

  1. belinda says:

    It doesn’t necessarily get any easier defining who you are as the years go by! But as a writer, I think putting that skill to practice takes you places you don’t expect to go and thus, you learn things about yourself you never imagined existed. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Celina says:

    Yes, yes, yes to your first paragraph!! Every time I get asked that my mind goes blank. I don’t know anyone in our age group who really knows and it is amazing how many of us are on the road to self discovery. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Like

  3. alicecheschire says:

    All I need to say is : YES. Finally, someone said it. I love how this post’s first paragraph only tell us: yo, it’s okay to have no idea who you are and no need to be sorry about it. It felt great to read !

    Personally, I know sorta who am I, I just struggle a lot about putting it in words. 🙂

    Like

  4. JoHanna Massey says:

    I do believe we all have many reinventions in a lifetime. Which makes for so many possibilities and adventures. The only thing constant is change!
    Love your blog and your writing style is so free. You have a new follower.

    Like

Leave a Reply

